Customer Reviews

Highly recommended self catering cottage. Ideally located for visiting the Yorkshire Dales. Two miles from Settle. Walks from the doorstep, Catrigg Force and many others.

Google Business Review, April 2021

Amazing stay at your lovely cottage. We will be back again! Walked, cycled, ate and drank. Wonderful location.

Guest Book, April 2021

Great location – we have explored all around this lovely village – beautiful scenic walks in the snow! Very comfortable accommodation – thank you.

Guest Book, January 2021

Perfect Xmas week. Warm, cosy, amazing added extras. Already recommending it to friends. Thanks, we don’t want to leave.

Guest Book, December 2020

Great location, amenities and overall accommodation makes it a fantastic break if you want to wander, chill, read and relax, or get stomping up the hills…… highly recommended for couples and families. Parking a bonus too.

Google Business, December 2020

We thoroughly loved our stay, the cottage is gorgeous and perfect for catering for cold wet days. We can’t wait to come back! We were lucky enough to see the spectacular Salmon!”

Guest Book, October 2020

Pretty cottage in a pretty village….

We all enjoyed our stay in Woodmans Cottage. You will find a large cosy lounge with wood burning stove and tasteful furnishings and fully equipped kitchen ideal for those who enjoy cooking or if you wish to prepare a quick meal. As an added bonus there is a pool table and ping pong in the garage. Upstairs are good sized bedrooms all with comfy beds. We stayed for 4 nights but it would also be perfect for longer stays. Thank you Maria.”

HomeAway October 2020 5 star review

Great place to stay. Ideal as a base to explore the area. Clean with all the things you need for a comfortable stay. Home from home.

Guest Book, October 2020

We all absolutely loved the Cottage, the location is absolutely perfect with easy access to many walks and waterfalls and only a few strides to the local pub which we found to be very friendly and good value for food. We were surprised and delighted that we could easily park two cars on the drive. The cottage was very clean and tidy on arrival. The bedrooms are a good size and we all slept comfortably and well. The cottage is well fitted out with everything you need and the welcome pack was… well….. very Welcome. Stainforth itself is a lovely little village and only a five minute drive into Settle to stock up on necessities.

Email feedback, October 2020

One of the nicest cottages I have stayed in. The owners have thought of everything. Thank you.

Guest Book, October 2020

An absolute “gem” of a cottage. Location was perfect. 100km = 1 very happy dog!

Guest Book, September 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage in a perfect setting!

Guest Book, September 2020

Little gem in the Dales.

Perfect cottage for our walking holiday in the Dales. The cottage is spacious and tastefully furnished. The utility room is such a valuable asset to the cottage, as it provides a practical solution to the Yorkshire weather. The provision of a boot-dryer, as an example, is a very thoughtful gadget (will be buying one of these for myself, for use at home).

Comfy beds; plenty of hot water; a well-stocked kitchen; and very pet-friendly.

Richard and Maria could not have done more for us, including scones, and a lovely welcome pack, and were quick to address any questions we had.

Overall, we would thoroughly recommend this property – it was perfect.

HomeAway, September 2020 and Trip Advisor 5 star review

Lovely stay in Yorkshire.

We’ve just had a lovely week in this pretty stone cottage in a nice quiet village. The kitchen is well equipped and modern. It has a comfortable and spacious living room with a lovely large window overlooking the front garden. There are wonderful walks in all directions from the cottage. Settle is a short drive away with plenty of shops and places to eat. We would recommend this cottage.

HomeAway, September 2020 5 star review

Lovely cottage in a great location.

We really enjoyed our stay in the Woodman’s Cottage and appreciated the welcome pack after a long drive. There are lots of nice touches, good quality furnishings and comfortable beds. It is a spacious cottage, has parking and makes use of the garage with a pool table. There is a pub in the village and Settle with its shops is only a short drive away. The weather was perfect too and we didn’t want to come home – we will definitely return and would highly recommend.

HomeAway, September 2020 5 star review

Lovely cottage in a lovely village.

We’ve had a perfect long weekend stay in this lovely cottage. The surrounding area is stunning. Lovely walks and beautiful scenery. The cottage was well equipped and was spotlessly clean. Would love to stay here again.

HomeAway, September 2020 5 star review

An idyllic cottage in a beautiful location. Lovely attention to detail, nothing forgotten.

Guest Book, September 2020

What a privilege to be the first guests in this beautiful cottage. We have had a wonderful stay and have loved every moment. The cottage is perfect.

Guest Book, August 2020

Lovely stay in a wonderful cottage in a smashing location. Looking forward to returning soon.

Guest Book, August 2020

5 Stars – Wonderful

Fantastic cottage, beautifully decorated and fully equipped. Owners had thought of everything. Thank you.

HomeAway, August 2020 5 star review